Hoc amo Mosaic

Even the Romans wore jeans - see, written in mosaic!
I had to zoom into Skibbereen after work to get my NCT (MOT) done and had time for a little mooch around and a cuppa before going to the test centre. Skibbereen has seen betters days and feels decidedly run down and a bit melancholy but if you look closely there are all sorts of interesting architectural things going on. This little mosaic pavement now goes into a mobile phone shop but I just loved the care and artistry and colours going on here, mostly ignored. I found another beautiful old building with ornate encaustic tiles, empty and decaying. The shops and pubs that remain are very colourful and attractive though, with hand painted lettering and crazy colours.
Hector, my car, passed too so all good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.