Budding Horticulturalist

Ruth's really got the bug for growing things.   Most of her veg harvest is eaten and the summer plants brown and dead but her two Purple Sprouting Broccoli are magnificent specimens, undamaged by caterpillars thanks to her vigilance.   Mine, on the allotment, were skeletal when I last checked, thanks to the Cabbage Whites.

This morning I tidied the garden a bit ... and the living room too.  We got the dogs out before dark this afternoon, walking Meg and Bella together which was nice.   Bella was very well behaved, I took evasive action once or twice to keep Meg from erupting at other dogs.  

The only news from Jamie is that it's definitely a choice between moving to Ysbyty Gwynedd at Bangor when a bed is available, or going home.   He's unsettled by the uncertainty of the bed availability and has been where he is long enough that he'd rather stay put.   Things are stagnant atm, he's not getting the meds change he needs, just marking time.   I'm not happy about this either, think we'll see what Monday morning brings and suspect I'll be on the phone chasing the Patient Liaison Service  again.

The drive home from Birmingham was uneventful.  The last half hour before I left was not!   I slipped, turning awkwardly and my knee popped out of joint, a brief dislocation.  I've a long history of this but it's not happened for over ten years.   It's incredibly painful, I swore - a lot - for a few minutes.  Something I very rarely do.  Usually the knee swells up massively and the pain persists, lasting months, gradually subsiding.   This time, thank goodness, I fell into a sofa chair which took the weight of the joint as I fell.  Seems that made a big difference.  The pain reduced to manageable levels in ten minutes and I left Ruth's, walking gingerly to the car, only a little later than planned.  Now home, the joint is warm but pain free unless I bend the knee while putting weight through it.   I'll be wearing knee supports and moving very carefully for a while I suspect.  Will see how it is next few days before deciding if I need to self refer for physio.

Nice to be home.   A few days here on my own won't do any harm although tomorrow is bid to be a busy one if the knee is still OK in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.