JianJun - the fallen soldier


It was wet and quite cold today in West Sussex, but I felt so much back to my old self that I went out and planted in the rain for half an hour. The Nectaroscordum siculum ( I know, big word for Sicilian honey garlic) from Philip Jackson's garden sale, and some flowering pots. We've got our favourite geraniums going, and herbs already in production for cooking. All is well. Felt good to get my hands back in the soil. I'm still having fun moving garden ornaments around but came across this fallen soldier today, I think his days may be over. He's a replica, bought in China, of one of the terracotta warriors of Xian. We did a deal in a hotel room late at night to bring back 2 of the replica soldiers, in the days before copies were available in every garden centre in the land, so I'm especially fond of him and his companion. His terracotta has not proved frost-proof and though he's been stuck back together a few times, I think he may not survive much longer. Pity, his companion with another individual face, stands guard over the potting shed door.
How quickly nature takes over .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.