SueScape

By SueScape

A Lepe of Faith ...

A Magical Mystery tour for me today. I like to get to the sea quite often and my husband took me to a place we’d never been to before, Lepe Beach between Southampton and Lymington and not far from Beaulieu. It’s a country park with a mile of beach to walk in glorious sunshine. This area was heavily involved in the D-Day preparations. On the 6 June 1944, thousands of troops with their vehicles and supplies left from this beach and other areas on this coast, as they headed for Normandy, the start of the great campaign to liberate Europe and bring WW2 to an end. You can still see lots of evidence of this immense effort. I found it quite moving.

A perfect day. A long walk with the Isle of Wight keeping us company across the Solent, a temperature which just suits me, and my beloved by my side. Nice one, Harvey, the perfect choice :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.