Drying its wings in Warkworth

This morning we came north for a few days stay at the beach house. Still waiting for the Insurers' choice of builders to repair the damaged ceiling and replace floor boards in the main room following water damage. S' brother is over from Melbourne and he is having a birthday gathering tomorrow. 

We stopped in Warkworth for lunch. Sat in the sun beside the Mahurangi River, and ate our pies. I was distracted from both the pie and my Kindle book by the sight of two Kawau tui (Little Black Shags) on a fallen tree across the river from where we sat. Both were drying their wings; my blip is of the bigger of the two. (Look at it large)

Late this afternoon I went down to South End with the camera. to get a little exercise. Was rewarded with seeing a number of different birds. Most pleasing was to see, follow, and get a couple of good photos of a Matuku moana (Reef Heron). It is my extra for today.
Although quite common I didn't see even one last year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.