While on my runs

By waipushrink

Morning meeting

Not exactly a meeting, despite the appearance of eye contact. I was leaving the house when I heard the unmistakeable sound of (as it turned out) two Kereru. They flew from the tree adjacent to the south-west corner of the house to a kanuka branch reaching high over the driveway. One then went elsewhere, while the one I got a photo of stayed and appeared to be watching me. 

Although sure that I had taken two photos, only one exists. Fortunately, I had made the right adjustments.

Our visitors arrived from just before 3 pm and it turned out to be a great occasion. It was the Book Launch that was, rather than was not. None are being sold. 

This project began when S realised that she had no clear record of her published poems (in print and on-line) other than the two collections she has had published. She started planning how she would organise those poems and put them in a ring folder; one for each of our children.

When she realised just how many poems there are, and the range of publications involved, she started to think that she could work with a printer she knows (partner to another of the Isthmus Poets) and create a book. She identified family members, friends, and other poets asking if they would want a copy if it was printed. The response encouraged her (and me) to proceed. 

Once everyone had arrived, order was called for and a number of those present read one of the poems in the book. I have long felt that S is one of the best readers of poetry. Today, it was emphasised that her skill in reading her poetry is NOT the reason it seems to me to be the best. Her poetry is superb (I cannot declare myself free of bias).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.