Combi31

By Combi31

Flutterby

This, I think, is a Pearl-bordered Fritillary, Boloria euphrosyne - however, if it isn't you can correct me.

See it larger here

I went out late afternoon and set my hide up, doing something I have never done before, put some seed onto a log and waited ... and waited .... and waited .... nothing came!

It was like a sauna in the hide, so it may have to be put away until autumn.

Afterwards, I decided to check out the woodpecker's nest to see if the young were big enough to poke their heads out of the hole ... yes, I was on the right side of the tree this time :)
I saw the adult leave the nest, which surprised me, my camera still on my hip ...
Then I heard the braying (do we call it that) of a rutting stag - I then saw him through the bushes, marching around the field as if he owned it, which well he might.
He then came within about 5 meters of me, hidden behind a tree and stock still - he looked straight at me then let out an almighty bray before galloping into the forest - I couldn't get a shot due to the thick branches, unfortunately, but at least I saw this magnificent animal.

So plan C was the cuckoo, which had cuck-ooed all afternoon, not far away - each time I got near, it moved then called from behind me ... this went on for about an hour, by which time I had to go and collect honourable son N°2 from rugby training.

He plays for the under 15s team - they have an international tournament on Saturday and will be playing teams from England, Wales, Italy, Spain and France - I watched them training - they are a pretty sharp unit and have a chance of taking the trophy Saturday as they are in the final phases.

Good luck Etienne and the Fronton XV Rugby.

So, my stand-in blip is this butterfly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.