Not crazy

The wind and rain orchestra sounded an early alarm through the opened bedroom window.

Huddled as closely as possible to a wall, I sheltered from them as I waited for my lift as most of my neighbours slept on.

As it got lighter and we headed through the early morning London traffic we questioned the wisdom of our plan which would see me complete the parkrun 'compass' challenge and get the letter 'N' for my parkrun 'alphabet' challenge.

A car park attendant looked at me strangely as I jumped out of the car.to check that the spikes across the entrance were collapsible as Elaine had already replaced tyres this week due to a pothole.

We made our way to the start and Elaine spotted someone she knew and we headed over. It turned out to be Sonya  announced, this week, as one of the new parkrun trustees and we congratulated her and had a parkrun chat.

The course itself was a single lap around the edges of a beautifully landscaped  park centred by large mounds that were constructed in the early 2000s from the rubble of an old stadium at Wembley.

There was mud and puddles.   There was a brie and cranberry pannini afterwards. We had another great adventure to add to our parkrun memory bank.

Maybe just a little crazy. Northala Fields.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.