Lights, Camera, 'Strike' Action

I landed into Brussels South Charleroi airport last night, and mum arrived tonight, but she flew into Brussels Zaventem airport. Unfortunately there's a baggage handler strike at Zaventem which started on Sunday, so I kept in touch with mum today with any updated news from Brussels Airlines.

As she's with us for just over a week she needed to check in a suitcase, but we suggested she bring a holdall that she could carry, with enough clothes and essential items to tide her over for a couple of days. The situation still hasn't been resolved and when she checked in at Manchester airport they were reluctant to take her case, but did, and stressed she must keep her baggage receipt safe.

Alan & I drove to the airport straight after work, and when we arrived we saw Belgian TV crews there doing live news reports on the strike. I'd taken my camera with me in the hope of finding something to blip, so you can imagine my delight at seeing this! So here is the RTBF reporter in action and you can see the TV report here.

Once I'd got my blip we went and had something to eat, as we were early and mum's plane was slightly delayed. The restaurant overlooks the runway so we could watch the planes landing and taking off.

Anyway mum's here, although her suitcase isn't - she's been told it could take up to four days to arrive!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.