Adam's Images

By ajt

Snapping clips

This is the 8P8C modular connector used in Ethernet (and other things). It's often called an RJ-45, but that's not technically correct. Either way it has one highly annoying feature, the spring clip that holds it in place is notorious for either getting snagged and falling off or losing it's spring, resulting in the plug falling out of the jack.

I have a tool to replace them, and I thought I'd repair this one this evening. I wish I hadn't bothered. First off it's only an old CAT-5 cable and not a very good quality one. The cable should have four solid coloured cables and four striped ones, except this one had four solid coloured ones as expected but four white ones, which makes lining them up a pain in the posterior. Even when lined up the cables slip and don't go into the plug evenly for crimping. 

Life is too short for this so it will go into the WEEE bin at the municipal tip.

Back blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.