Day Off

As promised, another iris.  This one is a form of iris reticulata, one of several that I have raised from seed distributed by Alan McMurtrie in Canada.   Alan has been breeding them for thirty years and has a number of very pretty hybrids that are now available in the bulb trade.   The ones I grow are all subtly different, varying in height, flower size and colour/markings.

A quiet day at home apart from a short outing with Meg and an afternoon at pottery learning more about the mysteries of glaze.   I have brought my latest piece home wrapped in polythene so that I can work on it here.  Getting to pottery while Jamie's away requires someone to look after at least one dog and that's not always possible at the time of community sessions.   I have a turntable and a few tools bought many years ago when I was last potting.  I'll be able to tinker with it whenever I find the time.

I've cleaned and tidied a little, started on the laundry backlog that's built up recently and early on I put together a lamb casserole - 90% vegetables really - in the slow cooker.   With dumplings added near the end, it made a warm and tasty treat on a cold day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.