Waterloo Road

in South Collinwood, around the corner from the house where my mother grew up.  It's now an arts district.  We drove around the neighborhood, where many homes and businesses now have bars on the doors and windows.  I photographed the old Slovenian Home at 15810 Holmes Avenue where I had been as a young child.  The Slovenian influence in the neighborhood is still apparent.  Then passed the lakefront mansions of Bratenahl, and through industrial areas to New Asia Town near the area where many of Cleveland's original Slovenians settled.  

Echoes of my father and his parents, and my mother and her sister talking about some of these places and people they knew.

Thanks again for all the positive feedback on my recent blips.  I'm amazed that they are still being looked at and rewarded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.