Light & sight

By CameronDP

Bite of the apple

So this afternoon I ate an apple and then I went to the theatre to see a production about Apple. Ha! Do you see what I did there? 'The Agony and the Ecstasy of Steve Jobs' is an intense serio-comic monologue about everyone's fruit-flavoured computer company. It mixes an energetic sketch of the company's background and the legendary figure of His Steveness with an even more impassioned verbal collage exploring the reportedly pretty dreadful lives of the Chinese workers who actually build the devices (as well as those of pretty much every other electronics firm). It's hard to sum up adequately in words...there wasn't much I didn't already know but was delivered with such verve and energy. Moving and disturbing in places.
I am a long-term Mac-head. There, I said it. My first ever personal computer was a black and white Apple laptop: this was the 1990s when there were still such things as black and white computers! I remember being delighted to discover that you deleted files by throwing them into an on-screen rubbish bin. Some gears shifted in my head the day I encountered that little touch on my long-gone lappy and I'm never been quite been the same since. I'm still buying Macs now, Xteen years later...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.