Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A creature of habit ...

Today was beautiful, sunny, occasionally snowy and, ultimately, annoyingly and diversely difficult. (I'm not sure about that last pairing of words, but I quite like it, so ...) It was so cold, so once again there was this huge temptation to lie down and go back to sleep as the sun rose - but as you'll see from the collage I've put as an extra, I was instead going from the front to the back of the house to capture the light and the gleaming windows across the lane as well as - look carefully for it - the tiny sliver of the waning moon.

My day, as usual was orientated towards choir practice in the evening, of which more in a minute. I did, however, hang out a washing; the sheet was frozen stiff by the time I brought out another lot, but it thawed and dried a good bit before it was all spoiled by a light dusting of snow later. In the meantime, I went to collect my rings from the jeweller - I've really missed being able to get them on for the past year - and buy some bird food and some pine nuts. In between I made a big detour round the West Bay, just because it was so lovely - if you look at the main photo, you may observe that there isn't another soul in sight, and the only sound was that of the odd bird, including the gentle plops as a diver - perhaps the one I saw yesterday - did his thing just off shore.

Dinner was at the usual silly Tuesday time (pasta with prawns and home made pesto - very green and garlicky), followed by a bit of Christmas cake and the usual collapse in front of the telly - a film that was on last night showing newly available commentary and news films from Chernobyl. 

Then the messages started pinging in: my road is so icy I hardly was able to drive up it - don't want to come down again; my unadopted road is very bad; I don't know what the Loch Eck road is like and would prefer not to find out the hard way ... that sort of thing. So Himself sent out the message that choir practice was cancelled, so here I am, blipping before 9pm and thinking I can't sit any more so I'll have to do some Pilates or something ...

Funny, isn't it - Shakespeare was right: If all the year were playing holidays, to sport would be as tedious as to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.