Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Towards the light

All day, I've felt that light was ... elsewhere. Not that it was a particularly gloomy day; there were pleasing pink and gold tones in the clouds; it was quite bright - but elsewhere there was clearly sun. I could see that at daybreak, when there was a line of light in the east that never came any closer, and I could see it in mid-afternoon from the West Bay, when I looked south and saw Arran in pinkish sunlight. And I could certainly see it clearly as I walked along the East Bay towards the town in the late afternoon with a friend and a docile dog, and that line of promise lay as a backdrop to the pier and the lights of Dunoon.

I didn't actually spend the whole day obsessing about light and gloom, however; far from it. Pilates was stretchy and - before and after - jolly (too busy stretching to be jolly in the middle, with all the possible interpretations of the term). I found myself lasciviously savouring my coffee, along with an Arabian date,  afterwards, taken in solitude as Himself had gone to his Pilates class. And yes, I realise that the Arabian date sounds as interesting as it was succulent, if you're into such double entendres...

After lunch, we both fell asleep in an elderly sort of way, worn out by our exercise, until I roused myself to think of flour, Vitamin capsules and a walk. Leaving Himself to take the flour home from the health store, I set off briskly to walk along the front and ended up having coffee and far-ranging conversation with a friend whose house I can just see from my study window (so yes, it's in several of my window-hingin' views). When I left, she decided to join me to give Gus the dog his walk, so we marched along enjoying the solitude and the silence of the town at teatime.

Now, I'm just in from howling at the moon (poetic licence here, but it is magnificent). I've taken loads of photos of this wolf moon, so I'd ask you to remind me that there are extras here that can be replaced later in the year when I run out of my allocation and forget where I did this. So - this year's Wolf Moon, as well as the Victorian pier lit up as darkness fell, just because it was a good day for photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.