Protecting Our Heritage

The annual heritage watch conference took place today at Leeds Castle which I helped to host. Despite bad weather and traffic chaos we only had about a 15% drop out and a delayed start of 20 mins.

A successful day of interesting speakers on the topic of ‘Protecting Our Heritage’. Plenty of ideas to keep us busy on the committee during the year. I enjoyed chatting to the glass conservator from Canterbury Cathedral, such an interesting job.

After the conference I joined the curator and collections officer in the castle dining room to assist with reinstating porcelain plates and vases which had been moved for the Christmas displays. We moved them from the silver safe which made me feel like I was in an episode of Downton Abbey. The light was dim so it was a tricky task but we got it done.

The rain was chucking it down as I walked to my car and by the time I got home I was shivering and felt like my throat had razor blades in it. A lemsip, hot water bottle and blanket were my evening’s luxuries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.