Capital adventures

By marchmont

Butik Bendera

Another day of walking in the heat with the added challenge of climbing many steps. My fitness levels have sure improved in 2023!

Today it was the 502 to Ayr Itam to visit the Kek Lok Si Temple. I missed it on my last trip. It is huge, up a hill from the main street but luckily they have vertical lifts to ascend the heights though I did climb to the top of the pagoda myself. Like many Buddhist temples it is also a shopping mall but the enormous statue at the top is very impressive. There are also red lanterns everywhere to mark Chinese New Year which starts on Sunday.

I then walked to the Penang Hill base station. Thought I was lost but a kind local kept me on my way. Like many things there has been much more development of Penang Hill in 12 years but I got away from the crowds by doing the treetop walks in Habitat. Great views of the island and the mainland and a welcome cooling breeze. Then a much longer walk than If activists to Monkey Cup Cafe for cake, lime and basil, and a cooling drink. Luckily you get a free hurl back in the rear of a pick up. 

It was a long journey back to to the hotel as the 4.30 204 disappeared and there was loads of traffic but spent some of the time chatting to one half of a couple from Bologna, Scottish independence!

It was after 6 before I drank the beer on the balcony then out to a Nonya restaurant for food, 5 minutes away. When I got back all I was ready for was bed.

Penang is very Chinese.  The majority of the population are Chinese heritage and in that way it is more similar to Singapore than to mainland Malaysia.  Not only a different heritage and religion but a different, more open, view on life. But the tourism industry is still in need of development. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.