bgleyna

By bgleyna

Light Bulb Plant

Loved this plant I saw in the very large Rainforest Conservatory at the Fort Worth Botanical Gardens where Dan took me for a walk. The flowers when in bud look like tiny lightbulbs and when they open up it’s as if someone turned the light on. So pretty.

I enjoyed our walk around the outdoor parts of the garden, despite the fact that not much was in bloom. Mainly pansies and a few Lenten Roses. It was good just to walk in nature and see the bulbs starting to send shoots up out of the ground.

We are going to be finishing up the sale of our house on Friday this week. We just have one more trip over there to take the remaining debris to the curb for recycling and trash pick up on Thursday. And I hope to have time to do one more clear up of the back garden where leaves, twigs and branches have fallen into the pond and stream.
It will be a relief to get the house off our hands, but I feel bittersweet about the garden! Yes, it has been a lot of work, but also rewarding - especially as Spring approaches and everything starts to come to life. The other day I found my asparagus plant had been putting out new shoots, which I picked and ate raw- delicious!

At home (the condo is beginning to feel more like home) I have a few pots of herbs and an Aloe that Jamie and Rachelle gave me for my birthday. A total of 5 plants so far!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.