bgleyna

By bgleyna

Reflections

Another exploratory walk around Fort Worth.
Still settling in to our new home and getting to know our surroundings.

I’m reading a book called “Spirit of the Home” by Jane Alexander. Some of it is a bit metaphysical but has interesting ideas and practical suggestions for making where you live feel more like your home.
A quote from the book - “A country cottage is someone’s dream, but might be your nightmare if your ideal is an inner-city eyrie, a loft up among the rooftops.” I am undergoing a rapid re-think and self examination of what it is that I really want - not some idealized version. We didn’t exactly have a “country cottage” but certainly a house and garden that entailed a lot of maintenance and upkeep. Sometimes it was a bit of a nightmare actually, if I’m honest! When we had flooding under the tiled floors and I could hear “squelches” every time I walked, for example!
Another example was the relief I felt yesterday when temperatures dropped and we experienced a “wintery mix” and I didn’t have to worry about protecting my plants or dragging them indoors.
Or am I just rationalizing things? It does feel better to have a more positive attitude instead of mourning my losses!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.