Flossmo

By Flossmo

Catkins

Another cold day.

First thing we walked up the drive to find out what was happening on the lane - Swish are digging it up to install fibre. Despite threats of road closure the diggers had put up barriers to make the road single track allowing traffic through. On the walk back to the house I saw the rather beautiful catkins  covered in frost and decided they would make a fine blip.

Later we had a tradesman come to discuss repairs needed to the paved area in front of the house and after that the bathroom man came to re-discuss layouts.

After lunch Mr Flossmo retired to his office to play with his toys, sorry I mean design an electronic system to monitor electricity consumption. I guiltily snuck off under the duvet with Ken again (it's by far and away the best place to keep warm). I am now half way through the 700 pages of Never and really enjoying it. It's an old trick, but Follett has half a dozen threads going, which tends to make the book a page turner. I am also reading it with one eye on the technical side, hoping to learn something useful.

At 6 I had my weekly creative writing group meeting and then, after dinner, I watched Landscape Artist of the Year and then Surgeon's on the Edge. The former was, as ever, an easy watch, although I did wonder about the suitability of a race meeting at Ascot as a setting for a landscape painting. The latter was a very difficult watch; it was hard not to get emotionally involved with both the patients and the medical staff. It certainly made me realise what a toll their work must take on them.      

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.