Life In The Fast Lane

Today was the long awaited Fibre Broadband installation day. After the hassle of them digging up the drive to lay ducting for the cable, I was somewhat fearful of what disruption there might be today.
But I need not have feared. A very pleasant and efficient young man from Openreach completed the process with the minimum of mess and disruption. He was more than happy to put all the kit up in the loft, and even put in extra cabling so that everything could be plugged into our existing sockets, rather than me having to use extension leads or get an electrician in to fit new sockets. I may yet get the electrician to swap out the 2 gang socket for a 4 gang socket, but that is a job for the future and I’ll probably tidy all the other cabling up at the same time and make sure all the boxes are sited away from where they might get knocked.
The actual setup, using an app, was pretty straightforward and all devices in the house are now connected to the new network. Download speeds have shot up from around 30mbps to 150mbps - quite noticeable when browsing the internet. The TV took a while to get connected for some strange reason, but we really only use the catch up services, rather than streaming films, etc. Might have to try downloading something just to see how it all copes.
So, all is good for now. Next battle will be getting some of the charges back relating to the period between ordering the Fibre and it going live. I was told that “all” I had to do was contact Customer Services and they would adjust my account accordingly. I am slightly sceptical, but at least I’ll be able to online chat with them at a decent speed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.