If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Sweet Box ( Sarcococca confusa )

There is still a covering of snow on the lawn despite a few days with a daytime air temperature above freezing.

The morning was filled chasing round after trying to fix a simple little job which turned out not to be as simple as I thought.  The afternoon visiting Kanyl.  We ordered from the chip shop on the internet.  I nipped down to collect them.  I was surprised to find 4 ambulances lined up by the roadside, no personnel present on lights on.  I continued the 50 yards or so to the chippie.  As I entered the first man said "you are going to have a long wait" indicating 8 ambulance personnel and three other locals.  No I won't I replied I am just picking up.  By the time I turned round my order was on the counter, there are some advantages in being well known.

The blip is of something I haven't seen before, last year's berries on a Sarcococca while further up the stem are this year's flowers.  Perhaps being native to the area round the Himalayas has something to do with it.  The flowers have a lovely smell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.