Raestelle

By Raestelle

"Well, I Couldn't Really...."

...."Take the Blip today - if I was the Centre Of Attention - could I..

....I've mentioned in one of my replies here over the last few days, where on Mothers Day we went to the Gem Shop - for Lunch, just the 2 of us, as our kids are interstate, and at the door of the Gem Shop the Owner - Doug, well in his 80's, greeted we Ladies Of The Day with a Pumpkin - yes - a Pumpkin he'd grown - actually, I was hoping it might have been a white chrysanthemum I told him - but the Pumpkin was for a "Pumpkin Weight Guessing Competition" - for $50...

... I told him I had no intentions of lifting that there pumpkin and he said: "Well John can lift it and have a guess too" - and so, with John's lifting pumpkin as if it was an apple - and my addition of half a kilo - it was correct weight....

...And after the luncheon, and many Ladies Of The Day later 'having a go' (SOME EVEN LIFTED IT he said) - over 100, (tough out here we country people are) -one other lady and myself (ourselves!) won $25 ea.

... That was great, Doug thought, but then it was Photo Time, (today for the local newspaper) "Oh No" I said and yes, I had to go as the other lady came from 5 hours away, and couldn't come, so it was up to Doug the Owner - and Raestelle..

... Incidently, the pumpkin, not this one (quite) was 28.5kg and the pumpkins are the American type of pumpkin he told me, they're a Halloween type, which grow so large, much larger than this one...

...I told him next year he could try growing one as big as Cinderella's carriage, he said he would try...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.