CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The ('white') heat of technology?

I parked on the road into town next to Waitrose to avoid their car park and to styretch my legs, if only briefly. I noticed the frosty path had a dark patch in a line and realised that it was marking the line of the trench where the fibre optic cabling for local broadband had been buried. The trench  crosses the road to the connection box opposite.

It occurred to me that there must a lot of heat emanating from the trench, and was reminded of Harold Wilson's famous quote about the 'white heat of technology' which was about to improve the lot of the British economy and its people. I'm not sure it ever happened.

On my return to the car I grabbed my little camera to blip this incongruous feature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.