An elusive female blackcap pays a visit

Any regular readers of this journal may have noticed me mention how often I've tried to photograph the blackcaps and the female in particular. Today I was standing at my study window and having spotted one I took a picture of it through the double-glazed windows. At least I had managed it.

A little later I opened the window, which was not an easy task with new fangled window frames. I poked my lens out through the narrow gap and waited and to my great delight this bird landed on the branch of the pussy willow tree a few yards from the house and despite obviously knowing I was there it let me take this picture. 

You can compare the female's brown head with this male blackcap which I photographed two weeks ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.