Bothy

The weather wasn't promising much when we left the Blair Atholl Hotel this morning, but it stayed dry, at least, for our walk up to Allt Scheicheachan bothy and back with Django. The cloudbase meant that there was no value in going any higher (than 500m) but it was still pleasant and satisfying.

Thanks to Squatbetty, I've read "The Wierdstone of Brisingamen" (again) and I'm a bit disappointed. Although Garner's first book was ground-breaking in children's literature, it reads like a first book that needs editing. He won the Carnegie Medal for his fourth book so I may read them in sequence to observe the improvement. Meanwhile I'm trying to finish Mircea Cărtărescu's Nostalgia. It's got some fabulous imagery that has stayed with me for the two years since I read 2/3 of the book, but it's hard going at times! Fortunately it's five semi-linked short stories, so I could read the last in one go yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.