Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Fading away

I wish!

Put the car in for an mot and service today. I knew there were a few jobs to be done and had reckoned on a bill in the region of £1000. Duly got the call from the garage to run through the list of jobs and apart from a box on the exhaust, there were no surprises. Of course as they list each item and price, you nonchalantly say yes as none of it sounds too bad. It's only after putting the phone down and totting it up that I realise that with vat, I won't see any change out of £1,400. The car can't be worth more than £2,500!

I consider myself lucky enough to be able to pay that without having to worry where the money is coming from. How on earth people on a lesser wage manage I don't know. It seems to me that the cost of some things has escalated out of all proportion in recent years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.