Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Hilbre Walkers

I went to Goredale on the Wirral this morning to get my Mum a new houseplant. I assumed that they would have a much bigger selection than our local garden centres, but I don't think the varieties were much different at all. Anyway, I got one I liked and hope that Mum does too!
Whilst I was over there. I decided to go to West Kirby to see what was around on the marine lake, but apart from one turnstone,  the odd cormorant and a few BH gulls, there wasn't much around. AND it was blinking freezing. I'd already waited until lunchtime for the day to warm up to the dizzy heights of 2 degrees! 
There seemed to be a lot of people walking out to Hilbre Island in the sunshine (even though there was a bitterly cold wind), which is still on my list to do, but not on my own and not when I couldn't feel my fingers. 
Instead I went to Parkgate to see if there were any Hen Harriers or Owls around, but after sitting in my warm(ish) car for nearly two hours, I gave up as the sun went down, only to see a Barn Owl fly across the road when I was driving back up the hill to the main road! Loads of Marsh Harriers about at Parkgate, but no Hens or Owls today, and not even any Redwings on the back field. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.