Well then...

Plan A for today was to do the local Inverness Parkrun in the morning, and then go to watch Inverness play Queen's Park (football) in the afternoon. 

The football postponement was announced at lunchtime on Friday - lots of snow on the pitch and frozen solid underneath. The Parkrun cancellation came last night - snow and ice is not safe to run on. 

That gave me a bit of time to find a Plan B. Parkrun does not have any other events close enough, so instead of exercise I had a slow, enormous breakfast. I found another football game to see at Elgin, not too far away and vaguely in the direction of home. 

But... the Elgin game was postponed mid-morning. No snow, but the ground was frozen. 

The power of social media alerted me to Arbroath's game with Motherwell being safe from the weather, and Arbroath is vaguely in the direction of home too, so I bought a ticket, packed my bag and checked out. 

I got there about 2 minutes before kickoff. 

It was worth the slight detour, and most certainly better than going home to sulk. In addition I managed a lunch fit for a king - a Forfar bridie, a chocolate eclair and a Diet Coke.    

I have not Blipped a pie hut for ages, so Arbroath's bijou food outlet it is. You get the best pie hut view in Scotland from the queue - the North Sea is 10m away. 

The Extra is the smoke from flares clearing just after kick off. 

Still Game

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.