Karma

Normal service has been resumed, mostly.

My car went in for a routine service this morning, so I was in the house all day apart from my 20 minute walks from/to the service centre. For some reason this service - 50,000 miles - dragged me into memories of all that has affected my life since I got the car in October 2015. 

I took it on a 2 year lease due to some uncertainty about what I would be doing in October 2017 or 2018. Then along came Brexit in 2016 to add another layer of uncertainty, whilst another layer dropped away around that time.

Before Brexit was finalised, along came the pandemic to add more uncertainty. Meantime, I just keep adding annual extensions whilst hoping for the uncertainties to pass. 

I know what I would like to be doing now, but it involves traveling with a reasonable amount of freedom. So meantime, I sit here trying to be patient whilst firing off regular rants about certain politicians. 

Which brings me to the Blip. My current book is excellent, and a great insight into some places I have visited in recent years. 

The author devotes a page to Boris Johnson's great grandfather. I think it is quite well known that he was an Ottoman Turk. What I did not know is that he was Britain's "man in charge" while Britain occupied parts of the Ottoman Empire just after World War I. 

An utter bast*rd, if the author is correct (and who would feel moved to argue). He was lynched by Atatürk supporters.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.