NigelHarvey

By NigelHarvey

Blue John

I wandered off in search of the abstract today. I had no idea where to go or what I was going to find. As usual I sort of followed my nose, and ended up in the Museum on Chambers Street. I flicked off a few photos which I knew wouldn't be useable and was about to head out the door when my eye fell on this. It is made from Blue John stone, which is only found in Derbyshire. The colours, and shapes transcend the object that they are part of, and I fancied that I could see a head in the markings, a Neanderthal Blue John maybe... The surface of the stone is perfectly smooth, but working it has exposed the delicacy of it's structure, and I hope that this picture is something else that has been created from it. This is virtually straight from the camera, apart from some sharpening for the web. I left smiling.

LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.