CONISHEAD PRIORY

A very dreich day today.  Much worse in Ulverston than in Grange really, athough Hubby said it was very drecih up his allotment, which is at the very top of Kents Bank Road, so high up.

As G goes back to Edinburgh tomorrow he wanted to visit the second-hand book stall in Ulverston Market and then go on to Conishead Priory to the Kadampa Buddhist shop there and have his soup and sandwich combo for lunch.  

We arrived in Ulverston about 10.30 and went for a coffee in the H&F coffee shop right opposite the market because Gillam's closes on Mondays.  

Unfortunately half the market was closed today. This tragically was to do with a stallholder there whose funeral it was today.  Very sad news indeed.

So we just did a couple of other things i Ulverston then went onto Conishad Priory.  It was busier than Ulverston really.  G went to his shop, we then had lunch.  The world peace cafe there is very pleasant and does lovely coffee and cake and a very limited lunch menu but enough for what we needed.  

Before we came away I popped down to their little lake and river walk to take the above photo.  I've never gone along the whole of the river yet but I will do soon I think.  From a little researh I think it is one the many subsidiaries of Dragley Beck, which is close by.

With G going back tomorrow I've just tried to book him his next train journey down here at the end of March.   Apparently there are no trains between Carlisle and Edinburgh of Glasgow for about 6 weeks due to major rail works.  You have to get busses etc - G cannot do that.  The only bookable trains are Transpennine and they are even worse than Avanti - so nothing doing there.

I am now thinking of going up to pick him up and staying in a Holiday Inn or something similar.  This is ecause I was going to go up for the day, go to the Doctor Who exhibition at The Museum of Scotland and  then travel back with him.  That I now cannot do, so if I stay overnight with somewhere that has free parking then he can come back with me the next day.  I will sort it all out soon.  Thinking of staying Corstorphine as that is easy to find - I don't want to be driving through Edinburgh city centre!!!!!!  

That is all from me for today.  Do tae care and stay safe and I will see you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.