Smoke, No Mirrors

As I made my way into Princes Street at lunch time to buy some loose vegetables at M&S, I was aware of more police cars than normal with sirens blaring passing me, but thought nothing of it until I reached the city centre and found the whole block of Princes Street, Rose Street and South St David Street cordoned off with tape and a long line of fire engines, ambulances and police cars parked in Princes Street and  up South St David Street. I  saw smoke coming out of the windows of the old Jenners building which is being extensively refurbished at the moment. 

People had been evacuated from M&S, the Mercure Hotel and the shops in Rose Street and were standing outside in the cold.
It appeared to be a major incident and as there didn’t seem to be any sense in waiting for things to return to normal, I turned tail and walked back to Tesco at Surgeon’s Hall for my parsnips and carrots,  passing on the way the University’s  Old College giving me my blip for today.

My vegetable stew is bubbling merrily away as I type and I am probably quids in with the savings by having Tesco vegetables rather than M&S ones, although I always find the latter’s fresher

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.