Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Nikon v1 Teardown

At this moment I'm beginning to wonder if this was a good idea.

Before you is a disassembled Nikon v1 body; in the centre is the main body, underneath the circuit board and to the left the sensor with a newly acquired infrared filter replacing the normal glass protection. Above is a plate set between the sensor and back of the camera. There are eleven separate connectors to the circuit board and they all seem to have different ways of connecting. A nightmare.

Unfortunately this is the second time I have disassembled the camera. I put the filter in last night and was pleased as punch when the camera came on and a suitably pink image showed up on the display. Just one problem; the camera doesn't recomgnise that the lens is connected, despite it being attached. Grrrrr! So this is my second attempt, making doubly sure all connections are made.

If your wondering if you've seen the last of my Nikon v1 images do not worry, I picked this camera up in a deal for a great price so felt it was worth the go at converting it to infrared.

Right back to re-assembling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.