Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Toledo Bend Reservoir

I flew off to Houston again today. Not long before landing I looked out of the window and saw this beautiful large body of water. I suspected it was a reservoir, so I did my research after landing, thanks to the time stamp on the photo and the playback feature on FlightRadar24.

Sure enough - this is the Toledo Bend Reservoir on the Sabine River between Louisiana and Texas. It’s the largest man-made lake in the South, and the 5th largest in the US by surface area. It’s max length is 65 miles (105 km) and the max width is 10 miles (16 km). It has 1264 miles (2030 km) of shoreline. The dam was built between 1964-69, funded by both states without any federal funding. Besides providing electricity, it’s a popular outdoor recreation area - fishing, hunting, water sports and camping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.