Sunbeams

By Saffi

A visitor

A very handsome cock pheasant with a fierce look had seen me through the window and then moved rather quickly away along the garden hedge.

T took me to the physio today.  The lanes were still icy although the sun was shining, as it does most of the time these days, but it failed to melt the ice in the shadows. There was an ice rink of black ice outside the physio's surgery.  T dropped me nearby and then drove away, I called after but it was too late.  Fortunately I had my crutches with me and was able to reach the entrance without mishap. It was scary.  The window cleaners had been washing the windows up above and unbeknown to the physio all the water had frozen very quickly on the ground outside the building so afterwards he was  boiling kettles and watering in-between patients to make it safe for them to come and go!  Anyway he doesn't need to see me again nor does the surgeon so that can only be good and I can start driving when the ice eventually disappears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.