RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Boxing

Because the MVHR ducting is bigger than planned for, there is a cumbersome bit of boxing-in to do in the bathroom. When I got the drawing of the architect's proposed solution I wasn't up to taking it in (this whole process can be stressful to brain shut-down level) and I sent it straight to Tivoli for her to do the tile design. So when she sent me her drawing, I couldn't understand why one wall had a kink in it. She told me she'd followed the drawing I'd sent which by that stage I'd forgotten even having. Since then I have looked and looked and looked at the architect's drawing and I just don't like it. Last Tuesday's site meeting involved quite a lot of talking about it and trying to show me why it is necessary. My brain has been worrying at it and when Tivoli and I were at the house on Saturday we looked at the offending ducting and what it has done to the position of the toilet waste pipe. 

On Sunday I when I dropped off the tile trims I measured it as accurately as I could (it's such an odd shape that it wasn't easy) and last night I dreamt up an alternative solution. So before work this morning  so I went to the house to talk with the site foreman.

I am so grateful that he and I have a similar straight-line aesthetic and he understood exactly why I am unhappy. He agreed that my solution could work, would look better if it does, and would also involve wasting less space. (Making usable space unusable distresses me.) He will do what he can to make it work, including looking for the shortest available WC pan connecter. I left feeling much less agitated.

After work I caught the bus to Didcot to meet my neighbour to bring back my third-choice wet-room floor tiles. They really are a compromise but since the varieties I like are too slippery/ discontinued/ unaffordable I expect I'll come to accept them.


This image is looking down. The board at the bottom left is what I'm standing on, the big ducts left and right are for the MVHR  system and in the middle is the WC waste-pipe. I've put the upright piece of plasterboard between me and the ducting to try and see how the straight lines could go. Way down below is the ground floor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.