Living my dream

By Mima

Plenty

For the second day this week I have done everything on the to do list. I must be getting better at writing realistic lists.

It was helped by warmer weather which didn’t get too warm. 24C was the top temperature, and then only briefly mid-afternoon. A regular supply of clouds kept things under control. But it’s been warm enough that Bean hasn’t required a blanket.

This is the day’s harvest. The potato onions all came out of the ground and are on the table on the deck to dry out for a few days. They are in the shallot family. The smaller ones I’ll pickle, the larger ones will be used in salads and other summer dishes. They keep extraordinarily well.

In the metal bowl are the last of the blackcurrants and the final few dessert goosegogs. Two courgettes, a red cabbage and a green cauliflower make up the remainder of today’s haul.

I’ve line trimmed more wild grass, I’ve planted a dozen small native trees, and I’ve thrown all my long out of date veg and herb seeds over what was the potato onion bed. I may get some things popping up, which I’ll dig into the soil as green manure in winter.

Bean and I have walked and chatted to neighbours.

I’ve just had a bowl of summer pudding for my dinner.

All is well with this small patch of the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.