Blur

Another mural!

We had an 'Education Day' at work for us teachers.
09.00  Registration
09.30  Plenary session -- introductory speech by The Boss of all the academies
09.45  Guest Speaker -- an Irishman -- he was really good!  And I don't just mean 'entertaining'.  He gave us all loads of insights.
10.50  Break
11.10  Workshop 1 (there were 4 and I joined #1)
12.15  Lunch -- sat with two of the colleagues I had drinks with yesterday evening
13.15  Workshop 1/Track 1 (there were 7 and I joined #1 again)
15.00  Plenary Closing Session -- this was, again, really good
Afterwards, ran into Scaramouche, who told me that this was the best ever Education Day our school has ever organized.  I believe him.

This shot is of the mural in the room next to where I joined the afternoon track.  Honestly, there are enough murals all over campus to fill a whole month and more.

That's it?  Typical day for the Ellaphant is supposed to be full.  Right?
As if this whole-day affair was not enough, enter WhatsApp messages from the Viking and Mimi.

During the plenary sessions, while I honestly paid attention, I could not help but react to the enclosures sent to me.  The Opposition... are they trying to scare me or make me laugh?  Amusing and upsetting at the same time.  During the breaks, returned to 'my' building and caught up with the mail and my replies, and a phone call to him.  After the closing session, a phone call with Mimi.  I am enjoying my work and other things here, and that helps against feelings of despondency or desperation.  Sometimes, though, I wonder where and when this will end.

After work, filled up the tank and did supermarket errands, and then home to dinner, where I could not work up enough appetite.  The exhaustion was mental.  I needed some time after dinner to feel better, and to talk to AW.  The Viking isn't worried, but I am still so affected by the shenanigans 'they' are doing back there.  Hard to describe it here, so today's post might appear chaotic.

Anyway, kitchen duties, and then, much later, I finally replied for the last time today regarding the documents I got.  After that, some feedback for a handful of students who will resit tomorrow and Friday.  See the blurred figures running the race in the shot?  That's how I felt today.

It will be another busy day at work tomorrow, hopefully only here, with nothing that has to do with there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.