Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Air Balloon

My dad is a Londoner and in the days before the M4 and Severn Bridges the journey from Cardiff to visit my grandparents would take five or six hours!  Part of the journey meant travelling along the A40 where we would pass the Air Balloon Public house; and since I was a young child, nearing sixty years ago, it's stuck in my mind mainly due to its unusual name and that long journey!

Reading the article here that the 230 year old pub has already closed (31/12/22) and is to be demolished as part of a £460 million road improvement scheme due to the 40,000 vehicles a day that use the roundabout!

Sad that yet another pub has shut but a great loss that it's such an old and well known landmark.

The extras show the roundabout, and the other is an overhead view.

I just had to record the memory before it's gone forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.