Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Some crashing waves

Another sunny day! Yesterday reverted back to grey with drizzle, but today the sun appeared again..  I had to take my car for a service.  They lent me a courtesy car, and as Perranporth was only 6 miles away from the garage, that's where I went.  There were lots of happy excited dogs on the beach.  One lady was running with her spaniel but it suddenly diverted at right angles towards a distant dog. 'This way' she kept calling, but her dog ignored her.  It amused me to see that she ended up running 'That way' after her dog!

There were two issues with the garage.  The courtesy car had ZERO petrol in it and was pinging warnings at me when I turned the ignition on.  The petrol garage was next door but the petrol was overpriced.  I had no choice to put a minimum of £5 worth of petrol in, for a 12 mile journey!

Secondly, the insurance for driving the courtesy car had an excess of £1250.  But if I would care to pay the garage £7, the excess would be reduced to £250.  I wonder how many courtesy cars they lend in a day, and how much profit that £7 brings them.  It felt like a scam to me, so I didn't pay it.

To repay the garage for their £7 scam and zero petrol in the car, I left them a small deposit of sand in the footwell, which wasn't deliberate, but if you walk on a beach you get sandy shoes.  I didn't feel guilty about it!  If they had put some petrol in the car, I might have done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.