Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Maggie in the fog

Home at last! Today saw me leave hospital and head back to the valley, day one of the rest of my recovery if you like. Southern Cross was wonderful - all the nursing staff so patient and compassionate - so I really felt spoilt.

It's nice to be back home though, being surrounded by all my stuff, and of course seeing the dogs again. I thought they would have been super excited, but instead they gave me an "oh, you're back then" kind of welcome. Typical!

As I write it's mid afternoon (ie between medications!) and the fog descends once more. It's been hanging around the hills all day apparently, and I'd imagine right now it is a proper "pea-souper" down on the Lake margins, as it was thickening on my return. So, before we descend further into the gloom I managed to hobble to the kitchen door (it's a stable type, so the top half opens independently, ideal for grab shots) to capture this australian magpie perching on the power lines as the mist came in.

As an aside, I reckon the next couple of months should be an interesting test of my blip abilities. I'm stuck on crutches, in a leg brace and thus my mobility is limited. Luckily on of my recent magazine purchases (to get me through) had a feature on photo projects around the home. Should be interesting. Incidentally, hand-holding a 70-200 2.8 is not easy on crutches, as I found out taking this shot. Might have to set up the tripod. And of course, rewatch Rear Window... ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.