You're no partner of mine

I caught him up a few miles after this point.  I've turned him off many-a-time but he insists on turning up regardless, showing off that he's beaten the predicted time of the route I've planned.  

From my start in Mungrisdale, the ride immediately had a beautiful Lakeland feel to it with fells and cottages all the way up to my reason to explore this area, Faulds Brow.  It's not a significant hill but I'm liking ticking these off simply for a reason to explore new areas. 

Once past this point, I eventually found myself on a road a little busier than I'd anticipated but the wider, less potholed tarmac made it easier to crack on.  I glanced down at my map wondering how long I was on it for and spotted I was catching up with an arrow - my virtual partner! He's usually long gone by now!  It helped pass the seven-mile less exciting stretch focusing on keeping him off my screen.  Once back on the quiet lanes, I did see him creep back onto my radar after a few miles of ambling and upped the ante just a little to prove some point or other!  

The last stretch back headed towards Blencathra and a profile of Sharp Edge with just a dash of snow left on the arête, a few patches of sunlight and some fine memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.