WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

New roads

- some accidental!

I found myself meandering happily along, fairly certain this wasn't quite the route I'd planned but enjoying myself anyway. It took a detour of about eight miles through Kirkby Lonsdale and a slight niggle that I had the potential to cycle a complete circle to set my Garmin straight and switch on navigation. 

Now those eight miles niggled for a while longer because I'd added them on at the beginning of the ride along with quite a bit of ups and downs to get back on track. Yesterday, I was looking for the shortest ride home from Carnforth - yet somehow today, I was happy to be waltzing around!

A magnificent tailwind was helping the spirits and the sunshine was splendid. Today's photo was a new (intentional) road and I loved this rocky outcrop and the distant hills beyond. My road was heading into those hills, taking a lane only just out of view behind the open gate to the left of the rocks.

I was doubting myself on the approach but it was just too nice to dwell and the next minute, I was crossing the cobbles at the back of Settle to head up there. It all worked out just fine and I then had a choice to make - a left fork through the little up and over to Thorpe or right, round to Embsay.  

I always do that! So, legs checked, I went for getting back into Wharfedale via Thorpe and I was really pleased with the change of scenery - particularly when I found the wind still in my favour!

Strangely, with just the right amount of bagel left, I managed the Cow and Calf home too. There's an added incentive at the moment with the roadworks on the bottom road but still, I was satisfied with this strange bit of extra energy despite the extra mileage.

With the windchill, there wasn't warmth from the sun exactly but there was a hint that spring will arrive eventually. All in all, it was a pretty tremendous feel good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.