Pictorial blethers

By blethers

What light through yonder window breaks?

When you need a header, you can always rely on Shakespeare... and when you need a photo at the end of a gloomy day when you've been too preoccupied to take any, the sunrise is more likely than not to have featured. Anyway, I have to apologise for yet another fiery sea view, yet another instance of my hanging out the window in my nightie, but I thought it special enough despite the repetitive nature of the post.

Actually, this morning was one when I was quite glad to see the light growing in the window, as I'd been disturbed for much of the night by dreams - not bad dreams, but persistent, so that I woke up convinced that there was a wonderful Italian café bar in Greenock - not the one next door to my hairdresser, delightful though it is, but one where I was known to all the Italian staff and was on friendly first name terms with them all. Looking back, I suspect the owner was perhaps the lovely woman who taught up pasta-making in Altamura, but it took me ages to work out that none of this was actually real. As I had been terribly hot when I first woke at 5 o'clock, I suspect that I was still wrestling with the salmon we ate too late last night. Add that to the usual half-waking worries about not being able to cope - not with anything specific, but with life - and you'll know why I'm happy to leap out of bed for a sunrise.

The rest of the day belied that early light; the grey closed in with a vengeance and it wasn't until dinner-time that I realised I could see the moon and it was clear, far too late to be useful. I was busy though - mostly running up and down stairs (16 flights, if my watch is to be believed) with packing cubes to put in my case which is now lying more or less full in the hall. (I know - I'm early; it makes me feel better.) In the afternoon we walked up to the church to practice some music for Sunday; I could feel my hip complaining after yesterday's great walk, though I think the damp chill doesn't help either.

That's it, really. I've downloaded the latest Robert Harris to my Kindle to cut down on bulk, especially as the book I'm currently enjoying is a hardback. I hate interrupting a good book, but life is tough. (I jest). I shall now go to bed and read some more of it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.