KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Fish pie

Enthusiasm
for fish pie.  Possibly not 
evident in pic.

Older teen is away so Ben was in charge of tonight's tea choice.  He wanted fish pie.  He was very sure.  I went to the fishmongers yesterday but they didn't have any fish pie type off-cuts but they said they'd keep some for me for today, if I came back.  Ben was very excited to go in and order what he wanted today and they made a fuss of him, as they knew that we were coming.  We also took Leo into Caffe Nero and managed to get a table and sit down for a bit.  It's good to get Leo used to all the noises and smells etc but he is a bit of a scaredy cat.  He didn't like babies crying or dogs barking at each other (to be fair, who does??) He also is continuing his Fear of Pigeons (not in caffe Nero, just generally!)  I'm hoping once he's on the ground and able to approach them bit more he'll find his confidence.. 
My mum and step dad came around after lunch to help with a bit of a laburnum seed-pod situation that we have going on in the garden.  I'm on the fence as to what to do about it, I haven't let Leo play outside yet as I've been worried about it but we've cleared up a lot of the historic pods today, so I'm feeling more confident that we can keep on top of it as new ones drop.  It would be a shame to chop the whole tree down but obviously I want to do what's best :-/
We then had a walk around the lake in the drizzle.  Frankly that was above and beyond on the Grandparent Duty!  But Leo got to see and smell more dogs and ducks  and even a swan. Ben had biscuits and was happy enough.
Anyway, back home for making the fish pie, Ben was very engaged, cooking the white sauce and stirring everything in.  He put the pastry on top and was desperate to get involved with eating it.  Admittedly the photo doesn't convey the interest but I promise it was there!! 
Happy Saturday all :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.