wrbradley

By wrbradley

HMS Caroline

I returned today to Belfast Titanic Quarter and learned an important lesson.    On this visit I took over forty images and was not really satisfied with them.  It was my intention to visit HMS Caroline, the only surviving battleship from the First World War.  It was a fully commissioned ship until several several years ago and I did attend its decommissioning service in St Anne's Cathedral where its Ensign now hangs.  Since starting Blipfoto I have only used one camera and a 50mm lens.  Well this is one occasion when I wished I had used a 35mm lens.  So the lesson is preplan what you intend to shoot and prepare for it!  HMS Caroline, a light battle cruiser, was build in 1914 and took park in the Battle of Jutland.  In more recent years she was used as the HQ for the Royal Navy Reserve in Northern Ireland, where she still resides in Alexandra Dock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.