The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

One I made earlier

... using the Pic Grunger app, and trying to give it a stitched effect. When did we ever have time to do 'stitching' like this by hand? Before the internet? Before television? Before the war? Certainly before my time.

The swans and cygnets were not on the island or the lake today. I'm not even sure if the nest was there any more. The park staff might have moved them if they judged the swans as being in danger. I shall have to return tomorrow to investigate.

So I shot the mansion instead, from across the lake. It houses the museum of Stroud, in Stratford Park. It made me think of the impermanence of things: how I have become accustomed to my sister TML visiting me in the autumn ( and blipping the park from the mansion) but now that her eldest daughter is graduating, maybe she won't. (She lives in New Zealand.) I remembered a couple of haikus I had written about cherry blossom in season, and everything being fleeting. I shall link them here and here.

Later, as I was writing up my blip, I popped over to TML's page to link it with mine. Her theme was decay and impermanence! So I popped back to the blipfoto app, pressed the wrong button, and, oops! All my text vanished like autumn leaves.
So, this will have to do instead. Remember, we are all made of dust...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.