Living my dream

By Mima

Hotdog

Another warm sticky day. On our return to the car after a walk Bean found a damp shady spot to cool off, beneath a leaking water tank. I provided her a drink and we sat there awhile enjoying the contrast with the fierce sunshine.

I spent the morning sweating into my overalls, first wielding the line trimmer to reinstate some paths, and then cutting back overgrown tussocks along the wooden walkway to the study using my hand sickle. The latter was a back-achey job so I’ll do the second half tomorrow.

As the day heated up I headed into town to visit the library and meet my friend A for an iced coffee, during which time we had an attack of hysterical weeping laughter about something and nothing. What a joy it is to lose the plot in that way with a good friend. It put a rosy glow on my day.

The sea breeze in Oamaru was wonderful, and the temperature was at least 6 degrees lower than at home.

A cracking day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.