Eye Contact With A Very Distant Drake Smew

I went to Seventy Acres Lake again this morning to resume my drake smew hunt as I've never seen or photographed one before. They're a bit uncommon, there are only two pages featuring smews on blip.

I clambered down a bank near where I have photographed a redhead (female) smew in the past and waited. Then I thought I could see the drake's striking black and white plumage through some bushes in the distance. Eventually the handsome bird showed itself and went on a fishing foray, returning to the bushes afterwards and sadly keeping well away from me at all times.

I've included the very indistinct head-on image to amuse myself as it continues my eye contact theme. Shame that my faraway main image doesn't show much plumage detail. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.